Special Education

Welcome to GAPS Special Education

The learning support program at the Greencastle-Antrim Primary School offers a continuum of services to meet the individualized needs of identified students. Intervention is focused on the whole child. We develop our programs to meet social, emotional, physical, and cognitive needs. Parents, administration, primary school teachers, related service providers and primary school staff work together as a multidisciplinary team, collaborating to develop differentiated language arts and math curricula. They ensure that students have equal access to grade level curriculum as appropriate. When fitting, we use alternative curricula to meet student needs. We place a strong emphasis on a rigorous instructional delivery of the following curricula:

  • McGraw-Hill Reading Wonders and Wonderworks Curriculum
  • Units of Study Common Core Writing Workshop Curriculum
  • Scott Foresman-Addison Wesley enVisionMATH Curriculum
  • Pro-ed Edmark Reading Curriculum
  • Scott Foresman-Addison Wesley focusMATH Intensive Intervention Curriculum
The team develops lessons and activities following the objectives of the Pennsylvania Core Academic Standards. Additionally, the learning support program is rich in its use of technology to supplement these curricula.


Our goal is to help all students see beyond the stereotypes and myths about learning differences and understand that with perseverance, a positive attitude and appropriate help, people with learning differences can soar. Everyone faces challenges and problems. Success lies in how you deal with them.

Human Service Agencies

Franklin/Fulton County ARC
(717) 264-4390

Franklin/Fulton County 
Developmental Disabilities Office

(717) 709-4321

Franklin County Children & Youth
(717) 263-1900

Franklin County Information & Referral
(717) 261-2561

Parent Education Network

SAM Service Access and Management, Inc.
(717) 261-1555

Bureau of Special Education Consult Line
(800) 879-2301

Special Kids Network
(800) 986-4550

 

GAPS Multidisciplinary Team 

Mrs. JoAnn Papoutsis
- Director of Special Education
(717) 597-3226 ext. 30517
jpapoutsis@gcasd.org

Mrs. Angela Singer
- Principal
(717) 597-3226 ext.40500
asinger@gcasd.org

Mr. Kevin Carley
- Assistant Principal
(717) 597-3226 ext. 40580
kcarley@gcasd.org

Mrs. MaryLou Pool
- Guidance Counselor
(717) 597-3226 ext. 40520
mpool@gcasd.org

Mrs. Sarah Foose
- Instructional Support Team Coordinator
(717) 597-3226 ext. 30550
sfoose@gcasd.org

Mr. Jeff Longfellow
- School Psychologist
(717) 597-3226 ext.30521
jlongfellow@gcasd.org

Mrs. Penni Baker
- Learning Support Teacher
Kindergarten/First Grade
(717) 597-3226 ext. 40210
pbaker@gcasd.org

Mrs. Stephanie Short
- Autistic Support Teacher
(717) 597-3226 ext. 40539
sshort@gcasd.org

Mrs. Carolyn Doncheski
- Occupational Therapist
(717) 597-3226 ext. 40298
cdoncheski@gcasd.org

Mrs. Meredith Ankerbrand
- Physical Therapist
Email
(717) 263-5147